Seminole Crop E News

Agricultural News for Farmers and Agribusiness in SW Georgia

Birds

Posted by romeethredge on June 12, 2013

I saw 2 interesting birds in the last couple of days.

I saw a flock of white Ibis in a cotton field yesterday and they were foraging around. I don’t know what they were doing, maybe eating some grasshoppers or maybe snacking on pigweed. They didn’t seem to be hurting the cotton. If I could teach them to pull up pigweeds that would be great.

_DSC7043_DSC7042

Then today I was looking at some corn and I saw these two Whistling Ducks in a small pond next to the corn field. I have seen them one other time last year at the edge of another corn field. In Mexico they call them pato maízal, Corn field Ducks. They are large birds that are not true ducks and are more like geese. They are fairly rare here. Here’s their normal range. _DSC7086_DSC7079

Leave a Reply

 
