Seminole Crop E News

Agricultural News for Farmers and Agribusiness in SW Georgia

Question of the Week – White Pelican

Posted by romeethredge on January 10, 2014

Last week I had a photo of some large birds I saw on the Chattahoochee river. I have heard reports of them on Lake Seminole and on Ray’s Lake here in Seminole County as well.  They are a little larger than the brown pelicans we often see at the beach. They don’t dive like the brown pelicans from the air but they scoop up fish and other food.

They are here and in a few other areas in the winter. Mostly they stay in Canada in the summer.

_DSC2082

pelican

This week I have the following question. What are these large birds that  Bryan Wells of  Meherrin Ag in Colquitt called me about this week. They are in a wet area below Colquitt.

_DSC2172-001

_DSC2166-001

8 Responses to “Question of the Week – White Pelican”

  1. M. Stewart said

    They appear to be Sand Hill Cranes?

  2. Mike Wood said

    Called “rib-eye in the sky” by some!

  3. Jeff Nunnery said

    Until a couple years ago, I had not seen any west of Brooks County.

  4. brenda said

    Hi Rome,
    I spotted some similar in Miller County in Cooktown nesting in a tree above a cypress swamp, After researching on-line, the ones I saw appeared to be whooping cranes. It was a first! And I could be wrong!

  5. […] I had a post concerning these birds just after Christmas you can link to here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
